NaNo Week 3 – My Character Has Taken Control


Writing

Writing (Photo credit: jjpacres)

Dear friend,

So we’re beginning the third week of NaNoWriMo and I’m feeling pretty confident. I’m more than half way to the goal. I know the purpose of NaNo is to write and write without editing, but since last year’s event, I’ve taken the opportunity to hone my writing skills. I’ve been training myself to write the dialogue and description at the same time as maintaining sentence structure. I’ve also been using the thesaurus to find the words I need, which has lead to some other epiphanies.

The first day of NaNo, I decided…actually the heroine of my story decided that she wanted to take control of the story, so I let her. Most of the novel is told by her in present tense with just a little back story thrown in here and there when the need arises. We both know where the story begins and where it ends, but it’s kind of fun letting her fill in the story her way. I’ve only let one other character have control because frankly most of the time, they run amuck with no real direction, but so far this character knows exactly what to do. She’s already been able to relate the story in nearly 30,000 words. Good words. She’s a bit of a klutz, so even the mundane things that happen seem interesting or at least a little funny.

Those of you who are participating in NaNoWriMo will appreciate the effort it takes to keep with one story every day. My thoughts are almost constantly on my character and wondering what she’ll do next. I’ve had momentary lapses that have been relegated to my notebook for future story ideas, but over all I’ve been able to concentrate solely on this story. She’s made it easy. I think I’ll let her run with it and I encourage you to do the same. If the character has the stamina, so should you.

I’m interested in knowing how you’re doing, so please leave a comment.

your friend,
Tracy
You matter to me. Please share your thoughts.

